News

We are now upgraded to the newest version of phpBB. It has more features. Enjoy.

If you've forgotten your password or are having trouble logging in, CLICK HERE for a reset password to be sent to you.

Lee Pro 1000

Information on reloading for precision or money saving, equpiment to use, powder and primer suggestions, all welcome

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
newguy
High Master II
High Master II
Posts: 2012
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2011 12:00 am
Location: Portland

Lee Pro 1000

Postby newguy » Sat Jul 07, 2012 7:48 am

Finally my birthday today and i got my Lee Pro 1000 setup for 45 acp. Now gonna have to beg someone to come help me set this up maybe next weekend :lol:



User avatar
CTSixshot
High Master II
High Master II
Posts: 2433
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2008 1:00 am
Location: SE CT
Contact:

Postby CTSixshot » Sat Jul 07, 2012 8:01 am

Hooray! Happy Birthday!

User avatar
newguy
High Master II
High Master II
Posts: 2012
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2011 12:00 am
Location: Portland

Postby newguy » Sat Jul 07, 2012 8:04 am

Thanks Now to mount this thing to my bench. Gotta hit up Truevalue for some long bolts

JohnFH
Admin
Admin
Posts: 1867
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2008 12:00 am
Location: NW CT

Postby JohnFH » Sat Jul 07, 2012 8:20 am

Yes, make sure you mount it solid, it works better when mounted solid.
Other than that, keep it lubed and double check the adjustments once in a while. A toothbrush to keep the primer feeder clean helps too.
Details Count<br>Appleseed it's all about YOU, ask me<br>

User avatar
newguy
High Master II
High Master II
Posts: 2012
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2011 12:00 am
Location: Portland

Postby newguy » Sat Jul 07, 2012 8:29 am

My single stage press has 6 inch bolt going thru the top and then thru a 2x4 going to mount this one same way

JohnFH
Admin
Admin
Posts: 1867
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2008 12:00 am
Location: NW CT

Postby JohnFH » Sat Jul 07, 2012 8:31 am

Just make sure it's not to much of a bother to unmount, you will discover that fun trick when you need to empty spent primers.
Details Count<br>Appleseed it's all about YOU, ask me<br>

User avatar
newguy
High Master II
High Master II
Posts: 2012
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2011 12:00 am
Location: Portland

Postby newguy » Sat Jul 07, 2012 8:33 am

Thanks for the heads up I was thinking maybe wingnuts and washers instead of using locknuts and washers like i did on the other one.

JohnFH
Admin
Admin
Posts: 1867
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2008 12:00 am
Location: NW CT

Postby JohnFH » Sat Jul 07, 2012 8:38 am

I just use regular nuts and 2 flat washers, has worked well for about 8 years now.
Details Count<br>Appleseed it's all about YOU, ask me<br>

User avatar
newguy
High Master II
High Master II
Posts: 2012
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2011 12:00 am
Location: Portland

Postby newguy » Thu Jul 19, 2012 8:41 pm

I finally got it setup only issue i think i am having is the Lee auto disc powder dropper says to use. number .37 and when i weight the load it says 4.2 gr and the minimum in load data is 4.4. Plus when i pull the case out of the powder dropper die it very tight

User avatar
Mopar
Expert III
Expert III
Posts: 683
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2008 12:00 am
Location: Stratford, CT
Contact:

Postby Mopar » Fri Jul 20, 2012 6:01 am

Take those numbers for the Lee powder measure as a starting point, and just adjust up or down until you get what you want on the scale.
DEMOCRACY is when two wolves and a lamb vote on what to have for lunch. LIBERTY is when the lamb is armed. Join the Connecticut Citizens Defense League for FREE at http://www.CCDL.us

User avatar
Mopar
Expert III
Expert III
Posts: 683
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2008 12:00 am
Location: Stratford, CT
Contact:

Postby Mopar » Fri Jul 20, 2012 6:10 am

Did it come with the standard Auto Disk measure (rectangular hopper) or the "Pro" model (round hopper)? If you have the rectangular setup, you might want to consider buying the kit they sell to to upgrade the standard to to the pro model. The standard measure needs a screwdriver to change disks, and eventually you'll strip out the holes. I considered modifying it by epoxying in studs and using knurled nuts, but the upgrade kit was so cheap it wasnt worth the trouble trying to do it.
DEMOCRACY is when two wolves and a lamb vote on what to have for lunch. LIBERTY is when the lamb is armed. Join the Connecticut Citizens Defense League for FREE at http://www.CCDL.us

User avatar
newguy
High Master II
High Master II
Posts: 2012
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2011 12:00 am
Location: Portland

Postby newguy » Fri Jul 20, 2012 7:31 am

It came with the round one. So since it said .37 and that is not enough powder should i try the next number up or down ? Sorta wonder also if the case should come out of the powder expander die so hard too it ends up shaking my whole table every time i move it to the next stage.



Image
Last edited by newguy on Fri Jul 20, 2012 8:20 am, edited 1 time in total.

JohnFH
Admin
Admin
Posts: 1867
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2008 12:00 am
Location: NW CT

Postby JohnFH » Fri Jul 20, 2012 8:20 am

it should not come out of the powder die with any difficulty, something is off.
Details Count<br>Appleseed it's all about YOU, ask me<br>

User avatar
newguy
High Master II
High Master II
Posts: 2012
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2011 12:00 am
Location: Portland

Postby newguy » Fri Jul 20, 2012 8:22 am

I am at a loss to be honest. Think i am going to have to call Lee tech support see if I can get some help. or see if I can get someone to swing over here and check out my setup. HINT HINT willing to grill burgers for some help lol

User avatar
Mopar
Expert III
Expert III
Posts: 683
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2008 12:00 am
Location: Stratford, CT
Contact:

Postby Mopar » Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:20 am

If I remember right, the numbers on the disks equal volume, so go up 1 number and try again. Always throw more then one charge, and always throw a few test charges before you start actually loading.
There are some pretty good vids on youtube about setting that press up.
DEMOCRACY is when two wolves and a lamb vote on what to have for lunch. LIBERTY is when the lamb is armed. Join the Connecticut Citizens Defense League for FREE at http://www.CCDL.us


Return to “Reloading”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests