Connecticut Preparedness 

A community of Connecticut neighbors discussing topics important for preparedness and self-reliance.

Anything to do with rifle shooting, plinking, target, benchrest etc
Hello,

I bought my first rifle about a year ago and still haven't shot it.

Its a mosin nagant, and i bought it from the cabellas in east hartford.

if anybody has some experience with these, do you know if cabellas removed all the cosmoline and did all the appropriate head space and pin length testing? I read all about this stuff, but I am new to rifles, so I would rather not start fiddling with things I know nothing about.

Also, I know I cannot shoot these at an indoor range, any recommendations?
By CTSixshot
You can't really assume Cabela's has made this rifle fool-proof for you. I've never owned a MN, but there are plenty of Mn-pros that can assist you with all that you seek technical-wise.
Public ranges are available as well as gun club memberships. Check out any club with a rifle range that offers public rifle events (Rockville, Quaker Hill, Mattabassett, Metacon...to name a few.
I happen to load the Sinterfire frangibles in 7.62x54R which should be gtg at indoor ranges like BSR, but verify this first with range personnel for their current policy.
By JohnFH
Never assume anything with a firearm. If you don't know, go to someone that does.

I clean all my new firearms before firing, because no one is going to care about my safety as much as me.
By GreggAndrews
JohnFH wrote:Never assume anything with a firearm. If you don't know, go to someone that does.

I clean all my new firearms before firing, because no one is going to care about my safety as much as me.
Exactly.

Cabela's hires just about anyone. I would not trust their "gunsmiths" whatsoever.

Chances are that the rifle is fine, although you may want to borrow a set of headspace gauges.