Connecticut Preparedness 

A community of Connecticut neighbors discussing topics important for preparedness and self-reliance.

Anything to do with rifle shooting, plinking, target, benchrest etc
By chasetheonly
Hi all,

I'm new to the site and hope to make some new friends here! I have some experience with friends' guns, so am more new to the shooting community than shooting itself..

Regardless, it's time for my own rifle. My gun owning friends have mostly moved away, so I now have zero places to go shooting and no guns to use. Aside from throwing myself on a private club's wait list for a year, where can I go shooting (anywhere in CT) with at LEAST 100 yards range? I don't have a hunting license or pistol permit, but am not sure how much that complicates things..

As for a "starter" rifle, I was looking at Remington 700's, yet simply have to try the Ruger American (.308) for how great the reviews have been. I picked up a relatively inexpensive but well reviewed 10x40 Mil/Mil scope, Weaver tactical rings, and will go pick up the rifle itself sometime in the next week or two .. maybe even this weekend. I got a killer deal on everything so am very happy going this route for now at least.

I saw a recent thread for a .308 bolt-action get-together which I would have loved to come to, but missed. Who wants to take me shooting, somewhere / somehow, and maybe even be a swell guy helping me mount and zero my scope? Dinner and some ammo on me ;).

Thanks guys.
By myglimk2
Welcome to the community!

I would recommend a .22 rifle and .22 pistol. Shooting .308 all the time is gonna get a bit expensive fast, unless you reload for it. You can shoot .22 all day long!

There is always Blue Trail in Wallingford, but I would only go there on a weekday as shooting on the weekends gets a bit pricey.
http://www.bluetrailrange.com/

WLOPA is another good club that I enjoy shooting at. I'm not a member but I go with a few of it's members. :P