Connecticut Preparedness 

A community of Connecticut neighbors discussing topics important for preparedness and self-reliance.

Anything to do with rifle shooting, plinking, target, benchrest etc
By jgoringsbnc
I want to build an AR15 for my next gun project. My question is, where do I start!? I'm fairly new to guns, but decently mechanical, and everyone tells me to build one rather than buy one.

Where should I go or who should I talk to to start?

Also, which parts do you need first?

About how much money will I be spending?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!!

JG
By nvisn
What are you looking for? An M4 style combat carbine? A match target rifle?

To start you need a stripped lower receiver. Palmetto State Armory has them for $50 from time to time. Add to this shipping and an FFL transfer. This is the registered (serial number) part of the weapon. Everything else you can order online.

You can also get a Spikes Tactical lower at Hoffman's for $99
By sludwinjr
well i guess it depends what options you want and how much do you have to spend........

are you going to buy all at once ot spread it out?
personally i like buying most of my parts at delta arsenal in meriden. i get a discount through brownells and midway but im very impatient and dont like waiting. barrels are sometime tough to find locally. but dough over at delta arsenal usually has mostly everything else in stock and may have barrels.

i can pm you a email you a parts list which may be easier and a tool list you will need as well
By GreggAndrews
Sonofabitch. You'll put together an AR before I do. :lol:

Not an AR nut, but they're pretty much the lego-set of the gun world. Parts pop in, and pop out.

I'm going to build an A1/A2 when I finally plunk down the cash.
By phoffer961
jgoringsbnc wrote:I want to build an AR15 for my next gun project. My question is, where do I start!? I'm fairly new to guns, but decently mechanical, and everyone tells me to build one rather than buy one.