Connecticut Preparedness 

A community of Connecticut neighbors discussing topics important for preparedness and self-reliance.

Anything to do with rifle shooting, plinking, target, benchrest etc
By PaiN
Most of the day, which started at 0430 when I woke and started thinking about all the information I gathered and all the rifles and ammo I've looked at, shot or studied in my quest for a hi-power rifle. It finally clicked, I actually brought myself back to what I wanted this rifle for and back to why I got into shooting at all. I won't get into all the reasoning but surfice to say it wasen't for target shooting or competition of any kind. That said, once I started shooting I enjoyed it much more than I thought I would and really lost focus, with this hi-power rifle business I was totally crazy.
So with my head freshly on straight, I mentally listed the why's & what's for my rifle. 1. reliability 2. easy handling 3. deadly, inexpensive & common round. 4. utility type weapon(not specialized) 5. synthetic stock. 6. sanely priced.
imo....there was only one rifle that fit this bill, I made up my mind and purchased a:
Ruger Mini-30 7.62x39
I went to Hoffman's tonight to get some Wolf .223(which they were sold out of) to test in the VEPR. I left with a Mini-30, 250 rounds of Wolf 7.62x39, a Cladwell front bag and 1500 CCI .22lr Blazers.
Tomorow is going to be good times. I'm going to side by side shoot the VEPR and Mini-30. I'll be at Bell City between 1130 to 1400.
By PaiN
in case you think I was lying ....hehe :lol: here's some pics

By JohnB
nice, did ya shoot it yet ?
By PaiN
I did some today :? ....I had a pretty good scare too.....but as it turned out the lot of Wolf 7.62x39 that Hoffman's had was bad. I was getting 2-3 fail to fires per five round mag..