Connecticut Preparedness 

A community of Connecticut neighbors discussing topics important for preparedness and self-reliance.

Anything to do with rifle shooting, plinking, target, benchrest etc
By PaiN
Still on the hunt for the "right" rifle.....
Any opinions on CZ rifles, specificly the "527 Carbine"? I let myself drift away from the mil. style semo-autos(since 99% of the gun's use will be on the range) This CZ is chambered in 7.62x39 and can be had for ~$590
By PaiN
guess CZ makes good centerfires too :D
tx
CTSix
By JohnB
cz makes a GREATenterfire..but the 7.62x39 isnt all that great, and i dont believe you can shoot wolf in it
By PaiN
:? from CTSix's forum link....seems Wolf 7.62x39 is one of the best loads for the rifle...???
Anyway...as far as I can gather Wolf's "American" cals are not so good...but eastern loads like 7.62, 5.45 are very good stuff for the price.
By CTSixshot
I have zero experience with CZ's, but according to the forums I sent earlier, many shoot Wolf in that rifle. Most use the polymer (??) coated vs. the lacquered fodder.
Pain, you'll have a suitable rifle for metal silhouette shooting with that 527, too. (Using cast reloads, as a rule). There aren't a host of cast bullets for 7.62 short, but Lee, Lyman and RCBS have at least one offering. In .223, heh...why bother casting for that. (I don't know if the 44 - 55 grain cast offerings have enough ummphh to knock the steel over).
Last edited by CTSixshot on Sat Sep 13, 2008 9:03 am, edited 2 times in total.
By PaiN
CTSixshot wrote:Pain, you'll have a suitable rifle for metal silhouette shooting with that 527, too. (Using cast reloads, as a rule).
Will you take me?
By CTSixshot
Hmmmm, I'm not very active in that area, but it can be done. Northwestern CT (Colebrook) and Quaker Hill (Oakdale) have the silhouette matches.
I'll have to check their schedules and get back to you.