News

We are now upgraded to the newest version of phpBB. It has more features. Enjoy.

If you've forgotten your password or are having trouble logging in, CLICK HERE for a reset password to be sent to you.

Latest on High Capacity Magazine Ban

Announcements

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
resinator
Sharpshooter IV
Sharpshooter IV
Posts: 305
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 1:00 am

Latest on High Capacity Magazine Ban

Postby resinator » Tue Mar 15, 2011 6:13 pm

I wrote to the NRA to see what they are doing about this matter and below is their response....



:roll: Thank you for contacting NRA-ILA We are working on this issue and reported about it here: http://www.nraila.org/Legislation/Read.aspx?id=6340

We are encouraging all members in Connecticut to contact the members of the Joint Committee on Judiciary here: http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/menu/MemberLi ... m_code=JUD

Please let us know if you have further questions or concerns.

Best regards,
Miranda Bond
NRA-ILA Grassroots Division
www.nraila.org
Sign up for NRA-ILA e-mail Alerts: https://secure.nraila.org/EmailSignup.aspx


God bless America and out troops....U.S.M.C.

User avatar
Mike-Sid
Expert V
Expert V
Posts: 781
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Oxford

Postby Mike-Sid » Tue Mar 15, 2011 6:48 pm


User avatar
Mike-Sid
Expert V
Expert V
Posts: 781
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Oxford

Postby Mike-Sid » Tue Mar 15, 2011 7:35 pm

I got 2 replies, and both were in favor

User avatar
SR9
Admin
Admin
Posts: 2069
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2009 1:00 am
Location: Bethlehem, CT

Postby SR9 » Wed Mar 16, 2011 7:15 am

JohnFH wrote:Every reply I have received from my Reps has been NOT in favor of a ban, or registration. Keeping my fingers crossed.


My 2 were not in favor either.
"Those who make peaceful revolution impossible will make violent revolution inevitable." - John F. Kennedy 1962

NVPL : http://www.nvpl.greatatlantictrophy.com/
WLOPA : http://www.wlopa.com/index.htm

User avatar
JohnB
Master II
Master II
Posts: 1012
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2005 1:00 am

Postby JohnB » Wed Mar 16, 2011 1:23 pm

heres the judiciary calendar page to watch for when it comes up for review.. the first date doesnt bring this bill up and they dont have any agendas set for the other dates..im sure they update this frequently

http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/menu/CGACommC ... m_code=JUD

User avatar
Mopar
Expert III
Expert III
Posts: 683
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2008 12:00 am
Location: Stratford, CT
Contact:

Postby Mopar » Thu Mar 17, 2011 1:53 pm

Public hearing date has just been announced for March 23. I'll have more info as soon as CCDL get's it.

User avatar
Mopar
Expert III
Expert III
Posts: 683
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2008 12:00 am
Location: Stratford, CT
Contact:

Postby Mopar » Thu Mar 17, 2011 3:00 pm

http://us1.campaign-archive2.com/?u=602 ... a618cd564c

Legislative Alert

Raised Bill SB1094
A public hearing by the Joint Judiciary Committee will be held on March 23rd at the Legislative Office Bldg., 300 Capitol Ave in Hartford. Room and Time to be determined.

CCDL also suggests that you contact your legislators to NOT support this legislation. Your legislators can be found here: http://ccdl.us/ccdl-helpful-links/ct-gov

ANTI-GUN Bill SB1094
This bill will ban the possession of ANY magazine capable of holding more than 10 rounds.
If this bill passes, law-abiding gun owners will have to begin SURRENDERING their magazines by July, or face CONFISCATION by the state police and a FELONY CHARGE.

This proposal not only bans the sale of these magazines, but would make possession of one a FELONY.

Own a magazine that holds more than 10 rounds, TURN IT IN or BE CHARGED WITH A FELONY!
Yes, you read that correctly!

link to bill: http://www.cga.ct.gov/2011/TOB/S/2011SB ... R00-SB.htm


We will need everyone to get on board to defeat this!

User avatar
myglimk2
High Master IV
High Master IV
Posts: 3870
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2011 1:00 am
Location: Shelton

Postby myglimk2 » Tue Mar 29, 2011 6:54 pm

Anyone hear anything new on SB1094?

User avatar
AGust82
Sharpshooter IV
Sharpshooter IV
Posts: 300
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 12:00 am
Location: Plainville, CT

Postby AGust82 » Tue Mar 29, 2011 11:59 pm

myglimk2 wrote:Anyone hear anything new on SB1094?


You wont hear anything until a decision is made. Any time before April 15. E-mail that committee.

User avatar
resinator
Sharpshooter IV
Sharpshooter IV
Posts: 305
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 1:00 am

Hi Cap Ban

Postby resinator » Tue Apr 05, 2011 8:02 pm

Hi, all ---

Here's a link to the NSSF web page and the latest update on this issue. There are links there to access your state representative's and senator's email addresses as well, if you haven't already.

http://nssf.org/govrel/nomagban.cfm


.. :roll:
God bless America and out troops....U.S.M.C.

User avatar
Trapper
Marksman I
Marksman I
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2011 12:00 am

Postby Trapper » Thu Apr 07, 2011 11:13 pm

YOUR communications with State legislators who are members of the Judiciary Committee and reported to the Coalition indicate the following are IN OPPOSITION to S.B. No. 1094 'AN ACT BANNING LARGE CAPACITY AMMUNITION MAGAZINES':


NEW/ADDED 4/05

SENATOR Roraback Andrew.Roraback@cga.ct.gov



NEW/ADDED 3/31

REPRESENTATIVE SMITH richard.smith@housegop.ct.gov



NEW/ADDED 3/30

SENATOR DOYLE Doyle@senatedems.ct.gov

REPRESENTATIVE BERGER Jeffrey.Berger@cga.ct.gov

REPRESENTATIVE MORRIS Bruce.Morris@cga.ct.gov

REPRESENTATIVE O’NEILL Arthur.ONeill@housegop.ct.gov

REPRESENTATIVE SIMANSKI bill.simanski@housegop.ct.gov

REPRESENTATIVE ROWE TR.Rowe@housegop.ct.gov

REPRESENTATIVE LABRIOLA David.Labriola@housegop.ct.gov

REPRESENTATIVE KLARIDES Themis.Klarides@housegop.ct.gov

REPRESENTATIVE CARPINO christie.carpino@housegop.ct.gov

REPRESENTATIVE HOVEY DebraLee.Hovey@housegop.ct.gov



Previous 3/29

SENATOR KISSEL, (Ranking Member), 7th District John.A.Kissel@cga.ct.gov

SENATOR McLACHLAN, 24th Michael.McLachlan@cga.ct.gov

SENATOR WELCH, 31st. Jason.Welch@cga.ct.gov

SENATOR MEYER, 12th Meyer@senatedems.ct.gov

REPRESENTATIVE HETHERINGTON John.Hetherington@housegop.ct.gov

REPRESENTATIVE ADINOLFI, 103d al.adinolfi@housegop.ct.gov

REPRESENTATIVE SHABAN, 135th john.shaban@housegop.ct.gov

REPRESENTATIVE SAMPSON, 80th rob.sampson@housegop.ct.gov

Thank the legislators IN OPPOSITION and Supportive of our position for their interest and efforts!

YES vote: SENATOR BYE, 5th From a member: “Senator Bye sent me a letter stating that she had issues with the bill making hi-cap mags illegal for people who already possessed them. To me it sounded like she was against the bill as it was currently worded, but would consider it if there was a grandfather clause built into it.” CCS OPPOSES ANY COMPROMISE CONCERNING A GRANDFATHER CLAUSE OR A CHANGE IN THE NUMBER OF ROUNDS – THESE WILL CHANGE NOTHING CONCERNING A “TAKING”, WILL CONTINUE TO AFFECT LEGAL GUNOWNERS, WILL HAVE A SUBSTANCIAL UNFUNDED MANDATE TO STATE/LOCAL POLICE AFFECTING PUBLIC SAFETY, AND ANY BAN IS LOGICALLY UNENFORCEABLE.


Undecided

REPRESENTATIVE TONG, 147th William.Tong@cga.ct.gov

SENATOR GOMES, 23rd Gomes@senatedems.ct.gov

REPRESENTATIVE GONZALEZ 3d Minnie.Gonzalez@cga.ct.gov



The following Senators DO NOT have direct e-mail, you must go through their website constituents have priority.

Senator Gerratana 4th District http://www.senatedems.ct.gov/Gerratana.php Representing Berlin, Farmington & New Britain

Senator Bye 5th District http://www.senatedems.ct.gov/Bye.php Representing Bloomfield, Burlington, Farmington & West Hartford


If you have questions on the impact of the bill on gunowners, go to the Legislative website, enter the bill number go to the bottom of the page and read the Public Hearing Testimony.



Go to http://www.ctsportsmen.com/ under Legislation to “How to find your legislators” or to the Legislative website http://www.cga.ct.gov/ on the left, click on House or Senate then “Find your legislator.”

Call/e-mail/write/meet your legislators and the Judiciary Committee members, some don’t know the impact of this bill on legal gunowners.



Judiciary Committee Members 2011-12 Total 42 http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/menu/MemberLi ... m_code=JUD

There are other Committee Members who will Oppose this proposal. We need YOU to contact them and provide feedback to us should any make a commitment of Support or Opposition. ccsct@comcast.net



Legislators above IN OPPOSITION to the bill deleted from this list.

Eric.Coleman@cga.ct.gov; Gomes@senatedems.ct.gov; Gerald.Fox@cga.ct.gov; David.Baram@cga.ct.gov; Charles.Clemons@cga.ct.gov; Patricia.Dillon@cga.ct.gov; Mae.Flexer@cga.ct.gov; Mary.Fritz@cga.ct.gov; Bob.Godfrey@cga.ct.gov; Minnie.Gonzalez@cga.ct.gov; Auden.Grogins@cga.ct.gov; Gail.Hamm@cga.ct.gov; Ernest.Hewett@cga.ct.gov; Melissa.Olson@cga.ct.gov; Kelvin.Roldan@cga.ct.gov; Joseph.Serra@cga.ct.gov; Joseph.Taborsak@cga.ct.gov; William.Tong@cga.ct.gov; Toni.Walker@cga.ct.gov; Gary.Holder-Winfield@cga.ct.gov; Elissa.Wright@cga.ct.gov;

User avatar
SR9
Admin
Admin
Posts: 2069
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2009 1:00 am
Location: Bethlehem, CT

Postby SR9 » Fri Apr 08, 2011 7:06 am

Hold out have been emailed.
"Those who make peaceful revolution impossible will make violent revolution inevitable." - John F. Kennedy 1962



NVPL : http://www.nvpl.greatatlantictrophy.com/

WLOPA : http://www.wlopa.com/index.htm

User avatar
jamesb
Expert III
Expert III
Posts: 722
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2010 12:00 am

Postby jamesb » Mon Apr 11, 2011 2:40 pm

I just got this from my first email back before the hearing from Toni Walker from New Haven. She (I'm assuming it is a she by the way her name is spelt) has no idea what she is speaking of. Read the bold. How does banning "standard capacity mags" protect your family and communites. How do you get banning magazines is a matter of public safety. I think it does just the opposite. These people will never understand no matter what we say or do. They are just set in their ways it seems.

Dear Mr. my name here,

Thank you for taking the time to write to me about the proposed legislation to ban large
capacity ammunition magazines in Connecticut.

Please be assured that I have thought deeply about this issue and have considered
many of the concerns you raised in your letter. While I understand and appreciate your
perspective, after my own thorough review of the facts as well as hearing from many
people from our district, I have formed a different opinion.

In my view, we must move towards enacting gun legislation which protects our families
and communities. I feel strongly that banning magazines is simply a matter of public
safety. I believe that as a state we must limit access to ammunition which is not used for
hunting or sport.
For this purpose, large capacity ammunition magazines do not fall under
this classification, as they are designed to enable the shooting of large numbers of bullets
quickly without having to reload.

If you feel that I may be of further assistance to you regarding this or any other issue,
now at or any time in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me at my office.

Sincerely,

Toni Walker
State Representative
93rd Assembly District, New Haven

User avatar
jamesb
Expert III
Expert III
Posts: 722
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2010 12:00 am

Postby jamesb » Mon Apr 11, 2011 3:09 pm

Nice John! I'm going to refer to yours when writing back.

User avatar
hayes1966
High Master II
High Master II
Posts: 2435
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2005 1:00 am
Location: Central Connecticut
Contact:

Postby hayes1966 » Mon Apr 11, 2011 5:26 pm

She deleted my email without reading it. I had requested a read receipt when I sent it.
NRA Certified Instructor - Si vis pacem, para bellum - http://www.ct-permit.com


Return to “Announcements”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests